Posted on

Its been 4 days already?!?!

So today Beron and I woke up at 7am and went out for a run. It was pretty brisk but so nice out. He was not prepared for the 3 mile run I was planning (as I should have known when he came upstairs wearing Vans) but I finished my 3 mile loop again through the hills. That cold air in your chest gets tight and the hills sometimes seem endless but God I felt good afterwards.

Once I got home everyone was up and making breakfast so I decided to make an omelet. I used my favorite combo of avocado, cream cheese, bacon, tomato, and I threw in some peppers and onion. It was de-lish and a perfect start to the day.

Once we had all eaten and packed up, we headed out to the boat dock. We rented a boat and tube for half the day. It was gorgeous out and great for boating. First we went over to Emerald Bay and cruised around. Then after hanging out we made our way around the lake taking turns on the tube. The water was pretty cold but so refreshing and sun quickly warmed us up. We got back around 3:30 so it was just the perfect amount of time on the water.

Once we got back we were all pretty beat so we rested a bit, showered up and headed out to dinner.

We went to a restaurant on the beach called The Beacon. We had eaten there last time we came to Tahoe and wanted to make sure we went back. It was just as great as we remembered. Even with 7 people and no reservation they fit us in within 25 minutes. I know that doesn’t sound that fast, but they have an outdoor patio with music where you can sit at tables and order drinks while your waiting- so you’re not actually waiting to be seated, just to order food.

Anyway, it was Rum-Runner Wednesday so they had very strong rum-runners for only $5. I’m sorry to say I didn’t get a pic of the Rum-Runner, but to be honest it wasn’t that good. It literally tasted like a rum slushy. Once we were actually seated we ordered some appetizers- Spinach Artichoke dip and Coconut Prawns, which were rolled in sweet coconut, deep-fried, and paired with sweet Thai chili aioli & orange horseradish dipping sauce. Both were SO good. The dip was really cheesy (parmesan and mozzarella) and came with crispy buttered bread slices. The Coconut Prawns were even better. We all couldn’t stop taking about them. I don’t even like shrimp usually but these were tender, and sweet, and crispy- and the dipping sauces were both so good. I wish that were an easier dish to find because I’d order all the time!

For my entrée I ordered the Macadamia Crusted Scallops which came with garlic mashed potatoes & brocollini topped with a beurre blanc. They were so rich and so good. I’ve had bad scallops so I usually avoid them, but these were amazing. So tender and slightly juicy, and the Macadamia nut coating was sweet and crunchy. The potatoes weren’t so good, a little too oniony and had a weird sour after taste. But, the brocollini was fresh and the beurre blanc was so rich and creamy- very good and dense.

A great meal to end a great day! Cant wait for horseback riding tomorrow!

Leave a comment